Spinnaker Toastmasters Club, Porirua City, NZ #7868/72

About Us

This page describes the history of Spinnaker Toastmasters Club, which is in Area J4. It also details the club's achievements, members' achievements, a list of the club's Presidents, and the club officer roles.

How Spinnaker was established

In 1989 the Kapi-Mana Speakeasy Toastmasters Club based in Tawa decided that it was time to consider the establishment of a second club in the Porirua area, and in the following year, four members of Kapi-Mana: David Knight, Brian Greaves, Gillian Cross and Tony Cross formed the establishment committee for the new club.

First meeting held in 1990

The first public demonstration meeting was held at the Bradey Room on 1 May 1990. With the help of many members from Clubs within the Wellington area, several demonstration meetings were held. Interest in the new club was high, and a sufficient number of members to charter a new club (20) had signed up within four meetings.

Chartering of club

After several successful meetings, the Spinnaker Speakeasy Toastmasters Club was eventually chartered on 18 September 1990, with Brian Greaves as the Charter President.

Club name decided

The name "Spinnaker" reflects the area covered by the club, which include those communities bounded by Camborne, Paremata, Plimmerton, Pukerua Bay, Pauatahanui, Papakowhai and of course, Whitby. The "Speakeasy" part of the name was dropped in 2001 in line with current club naming trends.

Club achievements

Spinnaker has achieved Distinguished Club status twice, Select Distinguished Club eight times and President's Distinguished Club for the 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 Toastmasters years, achieving 9 or 10 goals in the Distinguished Club Programme.

Check out Spinnaker's progress in the current year's programme on the Toastmasters International website.

Spinnaker celebrates 20th Anniversary

Spinnaker celebrated its 20th anniversary on Tuesday 7 December 2010 with a special evening of guest speakers and the club's annual prizegiving award ceremony.

Photo Gallery

District Governor Denis McCord DTM presents President Shona Smith with the 20th Anniversary Certificate from Toastmasters International.
District Governor Denis McCord DTM presents President Shona Smith with the 20th Anniversary Certificate from Toastmasters International.

Dale Hartle receiving her Distinguished Toastmasters Award.
Dale Hartle receiving her Distinguished Toastmasters Award in 2007.

Dale Hartle receiving her Presidential Citation from the Hon Peter Dunne.
Dale Hartle receiving her Presidential Citation from the Hon Peter Dunne in 2005.

Spinnaker Toastmasters with David Knight
Spinnaker Toastmasters congratulate David Knight on receiving his Long Service Award in May 2004.

Spinnaker Toastmasters Achievements

Many Spinnaker Toastmasters have been successful public speakers, contest winners and District Officers.

Here's some of our more noteworthy successes:

2018 - Albertus Viljoen (2nd) Area Prepared Speech Contest

2018 - Dave Cook (2nd) Area Evaluation Contest

2017 - Gary Nicholson (Division J) - Division J Table Topics Runner-up

2014 - Gary Nicholson, 3rd in District Table Topics Contest

2014-17 Dale Hartle, District Webmaster

2012-14 Kath Cherrie, District Supplies Officer

2010-11 Kath Cherrie, Area Governor

2007 - David Knight, Division E (Wellington) Table Topics Runner-up

2007 - David Knight, Division E (Wellington) Evaluation Champion

2007 - Dale Hartle, Distinguished Toastmaster Award

2005 - Dale Hartle, Presidential Citation for Services to Toastmasters

2004 - Wendy Betteridge, Division E (Wellington) Evaluation Champion

2004 - David Knight receives Toastmasters Long Service Award

2003-2011 - Dale Hartle, District Webmaster

2003-2004 - Ray Wolken, District Governor

2002 - John Ansell, Runner-up New Zealand Prepared Speech Contest

2002 - Connie Hassan, New Zealand Table Topics Champion (representing Mt Victoria club)

2002 - Connie Hassan, New Zealand Toastmaster of the Year

2000 - Ray Wolken, Finalist, New Zealand Prepared Speech Contest

2000 - Ray Wolken, New Zealand Toastmaster of the Year

Spinnaker Presidents

2018-2019 - Albertus Viljoen

2017-2018 - Megan Kloppenburg

2016-2017 - Darrell Phillips

2015-2016 - Dale Hartle DTM

2014-2015 - Gary Nicholson

2013-2014 - Peter Drew

2012-2013 - Peter Drew

2011-2012 - Fiona Cashmore

2010-2011 - Shona Smith

2009-2010 - Kath Cherrie

2008-2009 - Dale Hartle

2007-2008 - Edward Griffiths

2006-2007 - Peter Drew

2005-2006 - Iris Ansell

2004-2005 - John Ansell

2003-2004 - Susan Finlay

2002-2003 - Velma Knight

2001-2002 - Connie Hassan

2000-2001 - Dale Hartle

1999-2000 - Ray Wolken

1998-1999 - Graham Wallace

1997-1998 - Graeme Blick

1996-1997 - Peter Hill

1995-1996 - Gillian Cross

1994-1995 - Ray Hankin

1993-1994 - Velma Knight

1992-1993 - Gary Nicholson

1990-1992 - Brian Greaves

Executive Committee Roles

All Toastmasters clubs have an Executive Committee responsible for the running of the club. Here's a short description of the club officers and their roles at Spinnaker.

President: Responsible for general supervision and operation of the club. Presides at Club and Executive Committee meetings. Conducts General Business at club meetings. Attends Area Council meetings and votes for the club at District meetings.

Vice President Education: Responsible for promoting the Toastmasters educational program to club members, and prepares the forward speaking program. Appoints mentors for new members. Liaises with meeting chairpersons. Attends Area Council meetings and votes for the club at District meetings.

Vice President Membership: Responsible for marketing and promoting the club, and maintains membership records. Receives enquiries from prospective new members, looks after new members during the first few meetings.

Vice President Public Relations: Responsible for developing, implementing and administering the club's publicity programme.

Secretary: Responsible for keeping all the club records and correspondence, submitting membership and officer records to World Headquarters.

Treasurer: Responsible for controlling the club's finances, paying the club accounts, receiving new member fees and members renewals in September and March.

Sergeant at Arms: Serves as the master host at meetings, and looks after all the club equipment and resources, including refreshment supplies. Helps set up and clear up at meetings. Helps organise the club's social activities.

Immediate Past President: Provides guidance and serves as a resource to current club officers and members.


About Us



The Toastmasters Programme

Mission and Values


Hall of Fame


Join Our Club


Contact Us